Kudos to the working single mom

Rottenecards_11451712_9g9zs5bvkc

Kudos to the working single mom: It’s not something I’m good at, so the ones that are, I’m not sure they get enough credit.

This last month has been chaos for my family. This blog post has actually taken me all week to complete. I work at a large seed company, where my job focus is wheat. Guess what. It’s plating season. My office is planting, our associates are planting; our distributors are selling to farmers who are planting. We shipped out over a million pounds in 3 days. However, on top of this, I’m basically a single mom 3 days a week; hubby is working out of town.  My childcare provider has had to take a leave of absence, so I’ve been commuting my son to another daycare 20 minutes (17 miles) away from my home & work. My commute was 6 minutes each way, it’s now 30 when you factor in – in/out of car time.

I’m exhausted. Three plus days a week, we eat like crap because I have an hour and a half to take care of animals, get dinner made and eaten, and fight a kid into bed who doesn’t get why he has to leave early and get home late. Before, he could have a complete breakfast and have time to play after getting home.

This is what my house looks like right now.

DSC_0025

Now, in fairness it’s Tuesday and Hubby comes home tomorrow, so like every Tuesday, I run around cleaning up making it look like it’s been clean the whole time. So it won’t look like this tomorrow.  He knows I do this, but knowing it was messy and seeing the mess are two totally different things.

This is how we balance. I take care of indoor stuff, and cover the outside chores as needed, and he does the reverse. We both slack off when the other is out of town; it’s how we keep things balanced.

I’m not really complaining. Though I’m tired, I know it won’t last long, and the alternative wouldn’t work for me either.

DSC_0026

See? All better.

On a side note, my son’s lab has decided the chicken coop is a great place to hang out. He doesn’t bother the chickens, but they were out.

DSC_0001  DSC_0003

I did a 5 minute fix that’s probably only going to last till Hubby gets home. But hey, I think I should get some credit, I managed to herd the chickens back into the coop, and my great dane didn’t catch a single one! She is the epitome of chicken killer.

DSC_0002

*** He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. – Isaiah 40:29

Leave a Reply

