Spring Top 5:

farm-land-love-rain

.1.           Fresh green growth – Living in a desert I love the new spring green fresh look and smell. Trees are getting their leaves back, grass is growing, and plants everywhere are starting to wake up. Gone is the death valley of fall and winter, and back is the fresh feeling of a new start and a new year.  By the end of January most snow has gone, and left in its wake is a gray drizzly landscape that screams seasonal blues. April brings the rain and wind, but with that the color comes back too.

.2.           Jeans and sweatshirts – When winter is here I look like the little boy on A Christmas Story. I’m bundled to the max and cold all the time. Spring comes and I get to be outside in jeans and sweatshirts or sweaters, and sometimes I can skip the sweater. I would live in summer wear if I could handle the weather, so when I have to bundle up….blah. Hubby dreams of Alaska while I dream of Texas. Washington is a compromise with its 4 seasons, negative winter temps, and summer days that reach 100+. Spring and summer are my months.

DSC_0037

.3.           Spring Sports – This year my son will be in his first year of rookies baseball. As much as kid sports test my patients, I love them. I love sitting on the side lines, chatting with other moms, and soaking up the sun. The kiddos get to burn off some energy, and I get to soak up some sun.

farm-land-love-baseball (this little cutie is 7 now, this is a pic from his first season, my baby was 4)

.4.           BBQ – It’s the season of cooking outdoors. I love the smell, and the natural draw to hosting friends and family. We live in cattle country, and with that comes flies. I absolutely hate files so that’s inconvenient, but during the spring I can open the doors and windows and we’re usually bug free.  After having the house sealed up all winter, the air flow is a great change of pace.

.5.           Sweet Tea and porch sitting – This is really my number one, but its hit and miss in the spring and is more my summer past time. In my opinion there is no greater peace then relaxing in a chair with a glass of tea watching the kids play. If you’ve never made your own sweet tea, let me hook you up:

Sweet Tea:

Bring 2 quarts water to a boil, and 1 cup of sugar, and enough tea bags to brew 1 gallon of tea. I usually use about 8 regular tea packets. Mix for about 1 minute while boiling (be sure to keep the tea bags upright, sometimes the grinds seem to fall out). Remove from heat and let brew about 5 minutes. I wrap the tea bag strings around a large wood spoon and lay it across the pot. Next pour the tea into your container(s) and add enough cold water to make 1 gallon. I usually use 2 large mason jars (I think they hold about 1 liter), I split the tea evenly between the two jars and finish filling with cold water. Makes the perfect Tea.

DSC_0118Sun tea:

Fill a large Jar (grandma used to use a giant pickle jar) with water; add appropriate number of tea bags for the amount of water. Holding the strings of the tea bags outside the jar put the lid on and set it in the sun. Once it looks the darkness you like, it’s ready!

 

Leave a Reply

