Hay Farming and Family

Each year hay season is a big part of farming, this year was more so for our farm as we took on a few additional fields. Having young kids adds a level of crazy, but as farm mom, I love it. Growing up I changed hand lines a time or two, but hubby is what my boys call “a master builder”. He apparently changed enough hand lines growing up that he is a pro that can move 10 times faster than the boys and 5 times faster than me. Of course, my youngest has much more interest in running through the sprinklers pretending to work than really putting in the labor.

Our youngest is our future farmer. Right now he eats and sleeps farming. We have one-on-one time and that really just consists of him talking at me about his farm plans. Needless to say, when it comes time to learn about starting irrigation pumps, setting hand lines, and the like, he is first in line.

For the last couple years my niece and nephew have spent about a week with us during the summer. This year we made so many great memories that I wouldn’t trade for anything. Watching these kids work together to buck hay was probably the highlight of mom-ing this summer.

Farming 2021

Around here the way it goes is the farm mom/wife is the driver and safety officer. When picking up bales she is driver, when doing hard labor she watches everyone and looks out for danger. At this point in life, I’ve earned the ability to delegate to my sons… and I do hahaha. With the cousins over this summer we had extra hands for bucking hay and new tractor drivers too!

As the Fun Aunt, I take my position and responsibility very seriously so naturally it involves playing DJ while out for farm chores. Staple music we have includes parody favorites – “farming and I grow it” and “chore”.

How do you keep chores fun?

Leave a comment